Martial Arts Net Book of Martial Arts style

NAME: Of course the style name!
SKILL LEVEL: Easy, Hard, Master.
FAMILY: "Family's" of martial arts are martial arts with similar (but
distinguishablly different) techniques. Example families are: Kung-fu:
Dragon Kung-fu, Shou Lin Kung-fu, Drunken Monkey Kung-fu, Tiger Kung-fu,
etc; Jeet Kune Do: Boxing, Judo, Wing Chun Kung-fu, Escrima.
PHILOSOPHY: This is a study of a body of beliefs. Character are taught
these beliefs as they learn their particular style. Whether or not the
character acutally believes these teaching is up to the individual
character. Example Philosophies: Buddism, Shinto, Taoism (more will be
given on Philosophies later).
BONUS # ATTACKS: Number of attacks in addition to what the character
would normally recieve. See below.
DAMAGE: Amount of damage normally done by attacks from the specific
style. See below.
AC: This is the modifier to the AC of the character. Block/Parry +
Dodge = Modifier to AC.
STRIKE: Modifier to strike with hands.
KICK: Modifier to strike with feet.
BLOCK/PARRY: Modifier to block/parry.
DODGE: Modifier to dodge.
THROW: Modifier attack roll when attempting to throw a character.
HOLD: Modifier to attack roll when attempting to put a character into a
ESCAPE: Modifier to break holds.
SWEEP: Modifier to "sweep" legs.
GRAPPLE: Modifier to grapple with another character.
WEAPON: Modifier to specific weapons allowed by the style (See Weapon
Kata below).

Weapon Kata: The weapons allowed by the style.
Primary Disciplines: Primary disciplines reflect the main focus of the
individual styls; they are usually taught first, and students will
dedicate more time and energy to master them.
Secondary Disciplines: Secondary disciplines are also part of the
style's repertoire, but are either taught only at higher levels, or are
not given much attention throughout.
Style Disadvantage: As all styles have advantages, most have
disadvantages. Example disadvantages are: "cannot use weapons", "must
be unencumbered", "must use weapons".

Bonus Total # of
# of points applied
Difficulty Attacks Damage #Techniques toward techniques
Easy* 1 1d6 (2-4) 1d4+4
Hard** 2 1d8 (5-8) 1d8+8
Master*** 3 1d10 (6-10) 3d6+7

* Easy styles have no requirements.
** Hard styles require learning two easy styles.
*** Master styles require learning two easy styles plus two hard syles
or any three syles from the same family (in that case the "Master" art
must also be from the same family.

Web Design ©2000 Lord Eadric